Thursday, March 29, 2012

Milwaukee Community Leaders Support MPS Children’s Campaign

As MPS teachers deliberate and vote on whether to contribute a week’s worth of their wages to a class size relief fund, several community leaders have made the pledge of joining teachers. Congresswoman Gwen Moore, State Superintendent of Schools Tony Evers, MMAC President Tim Sheehy, School Board President Michael Bonds, and Wisconsin State Senator Chris Larson have all made the pledge.

The community leaders pledged to make a contribution of a week’s worth of wages to the class size relief fund. Other community leaders who have made the pledge include MTEA Executive Director Sid Hatch; MPS School Board members Larry Miller and Terry Falk; Gerard Randall, Executive Director of the Milwaukee Partnership Academy; Wisconsin Assemblyman Fred Kessler; Milwaukee Alderperson Nik Kovak; Ellen Bravo, Exec Dir. of Family Values @ Work Consortium; Richard Pieper, retired businessman, and the Suzanne and Richard Pieper Family Foundation; Cynthia Ellwood, MPS Regional Specialist (East region); Katrice Cotton, MPS Regional Specialist (Southwest Region); and Robert Lowe, Professor of Education, Marquette University.

Community members may pledge by contacting MTEA President Bob Peterson at 414-259-1990 or Community donations will go to a special class size relief fund within the MPS Foundation. All community donations are tax deductible. 

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.